September 14, 2009

37227007_adb17a9a7f

I currently have a kidney infection – pretty prone to them so nothing new there, but it got me thinking about a couple of things. #1 how nice it is to stay in bed all day and not feel guilty because you are genuinely sick. #2 how much you appreciate sympathy and thoughtfulness when you are feeling less than a picture of health. #3 how hard it is if you have no one to help you out when you are under the weather.

 I lived in Dubai for a year and worked as a Grade 2 Maths, English and Art teacher and (given that I was around kids a lot), I got chest infections, throat infections, the usual quarterly kidney infection – you name it.

One great thing about the UAE is that if you are sick (even hungover) you can simply call a number, put in an order for pretty much anything and its delivered to your doorstep in less than 30 mins. This is a really comforting thought. I lived alone in a one bed apartment, as did most people, and I didn’t want to call one of my friends and ask them to get me nurofen, cranberry juice or whatever (in the 50 deg heat) so id call the delivery man and as long as I tipped him, he would be there in no time with whatever I needed.

I know everyone has relations, friends and loved ones, but I think a concept like this could work really well in Ireland. I don’t like being fussed over when I’m sick so the thoughts of just making a simple call, paying a small premium and being hassle free is very appealing.

Over the weekend I got a flyer for a ‘Nite Deli’ that delivers – i.e. for post drink munchies, pasta and meatballs, toasted sandwiches etc – how entrpreneuring! (a step outside the hotdog and chips box) And in Amsterdam, Dominos Pizza have erected mock doors on beaches and in parks, where people can order their pizzas to – another brilliant idea. I think the delivery market is an untapped one, an area that could grow. We should be able to order lunch (whatever food takes our fancy), DVDs, cleaning products. ‘You can’ I hear you say, but the services are as yet too inefficient to warrant any mass usership.

 I’m out of Cranberry Juice, see, a delivery man would be perfect right now.

Vanessa

Leave a Reply

