3D – The Next Big Thing…..I think

September 4, 2009

3D glassesEarlier this year, a very wise, very clever man was trying to convince me that 3D is the way of the future. I was highly sceptical, I’ll admit it. Smello- vision anyone?

But I’m being forced to rethink it. Sony is behind it; they’re planning to sell 3D TV sets globally by the end of next year. Sky is bringing in a 3D channel next year too. Its not just TV either; Sony are introducing it to the Playstation and their VAIO laptops. Nokia has created a 3D mobile phone, Disney have four 3D movies ready for release here before the end of the year. Panasonic are behind it too; they have developed their own 3D home theatre system. There are lots of very clever people at these very large companies, so there must be something in it.

Basically, 3D gives the viewer the illusion of depth in the image they’re viewing, which is cool. I’m not sure how cool though. I think I remember seeing a few 3D movies when I was a kid, I certainly remember wearing the silly glasses. I can’t remember what movies I saw though, which makes me think that the experience didn’t make much of an impression. Ok, so the technology has improved a lot since then, but we’ve just been asked to switch over to HD TV, now we need to buy a 3D HD TV? That’s just sort of annoying.

I’m actually a fan of HD; I think it’s amazing to see the individual blades of grass move as the golf ball rolls across the putting green. It’ll be great too, I’m sure, when I get around to watching an epic action movie. It doesn’t really make much of a difference to the Nine O’ Clock News though, nor will 3D. In fact, most of the things I watch on TV aren’t really effected by these advances in technology, which is why I think 3D TV might just be a bridge too far for the mainstream.   

In the cinema, 3D enhances an already incredibly rich visual experience. For gaming, anything that helps you feel more involved with the action is fantastic, but I don’t think I need to see The Late Late Show in 3D.

Claire

2 Responses to “3D – The Next Big Thing…..I think”

  1. […] high- action scenes, I was utterly enthralled for the entire 162 minutes. Not too long ago, I talked about how unconvinced I was about 3D and that, despite the hype, I wasn’t too sure if it would really […]

  2. […] from Ireland and beyond chosen by all the OMD-ers)   1.  John & Edward have the X Factor 2.  3D – The Next Big Thing …. I think 3.  Now that’s Advertainment! 4.  How to become a Youtube/Facebook one hit wonder 5.  […]

Leave a Reply

